Comparisons

Lovable vs Bolt vs v0: Which AI App Builder Fits Your Project?

Published Updated 5 min readBy Vibe Coding Intel editorial

Compiled from official docs and public sources, checked .

The short answer: pick Lovable if you cannot code and want a database-backed app with the backend handled; Bolt.new if you can read code and want a real Node environment with your code in GitHub and a choice of hosts; v0 if what you need is a polished React interface, especially on Vercel. All three start free and the entry paid plans are $25 (Lovable Pro), $25 (Bolt Pro) and $30 per user (v0 Plus), but each bills a different thing, so the sticker prices do not compare directly.

What you are actually paying for

The one difference that changes your bill: the unit. Prices are from each vendor’s pricing page, checked 28 and 29 September 2026; the per-unit column is our arithmetic on those prices.

AttributeLovableBolt.newv0
Billing unitCredits, spent on building, chat, Cloud hosting and in-app AITokens sent to and from the modelDollar credits at model token rates
Free plan5 daily credits, up to 30 a month300K tokens a day, 1M a month$5 of monthly credits, 7 messages a day
Entry paid planPro $25 a month ($21 billed annually)Pro $25 a monthPlus $30 per user per month
What it includes100 credits plus 5 daily credits10M tokens a month, no daily cap$30 of credits plus $2 free daily credits
Our per-unit maths$0.25 per credit at ProAbout $2.50 per million tokens$1 of credit costs $1 (model rates $0.20 to $10 per million tokens)
Extra usageTop-up $15 per 50 credits ($0.30 each)Reload on the highest monthly Pro tier or annual Pro plansBuy credits shared across the team (price not stated on page)

Sources: Lovable and its plans docs, Bolt and its token docs, v0 and its pricing docs.

Read the units, not the price. A Lovable credit is not a fixed amount of work (Lovable’s docs give 0.5 credit to change a button colour and about 1.7 for a landing page with images). Bolt’s tokens grow with project size because the model re-reads your files. v0 meters the model directly, so a request on the cheapest model costs a fraction of one on the most powerful. Tokens and credits are not convertible, so “10M tokens versus 100 credits” tells you nothing on its own. Bolt’s side of that is worked through in Bolt.new pricing and tokens explained. v0’s rate card is worked through in v0 pricing and credits explained.

v0’s pricing page shows Plus at $30 with a struck-through $90 beside it; the struck-through number is not a plan price. v0’s docs also list a $20 Premium plan that they describe as sunsetted for new users, so guides quoting a $20 v0 plan are describing an old tier.

What happens when you run out

AttributeLovableBolt.newv0
The AI at zeroBlocking dialog; building stopsAI stops; direct code edits stay freeGeneration pauses
Your live appPages keep serving; Cloud-backed apps can pauseNot stated in the docs readNot stated in the docs read
Credits that carry overMonthly credits expire 2 months after issuePaid tokens roll over one month; Free tokens do notMonthly credits expire after 65 days

The full nine-tool version, with sources, is in what happens when AI builder credits run out.

Backend and data

AttributeLovableBolt.newv0
Database and authLovable Cloud, or your own SupabaseBolt Cloud (managed by Supabase per Bolt’s announcement) or your own servicesBring your own; connect a database
Build styleChat plus visual editingCode-first in a browser Node environmentPrompt to UI, built for Vercel
Code outTwo-way GitHub sync; download on paid plansGitHub sync; publish on Bolt hosting, Netlify or elsewhereGitHub sync with branches and pull requests
LeavingCloud to your own Supabase is manualDatabase export not documentedDeploy is Vercel-native; GitHub sync does not grant deploy rights elsewhere

Sources: Lovable Cloud migration docs, Bolt Cloud announcement, Bolt Git docs, v0 GitHub docs. The full matrix with Base44 and Replit is the lock-in and export guide.

Pick by situation

Your situationPickWhy
Non-technical founder, need logins and a databaseLovableBackend handled; watch credits and the Cloud pause risk
Can read code, want control and portabilityBolt.newReal Node environment; GitHub and any host
Need a landing page or dashboard UI, already on Vercelv0UI-first; Vercel deployment
Cost-sensitive, exploringAny free planFree daily limits differ: Lovable 5 credits a day, Bolt 300K tokens a day, v0 $5 a month
Team of several peoplev0 Plus is per user; Lovable workspaces have unlimited membersCheck the unit that scales with headcount
Worried about exitBolt or Lovable on your own SupabaseStandard code and database

Base44 is not on this shortlist; it is compared in Base44 vs Lovable and Base44 vs Bolt.new. The wider ranking is in best AI app builder. If you are leaving one of these, see Bolt.new alternatives and v0 alternatives. More on each: Lovable review, Bolt.new review, v0 review.

Method

Researched from vendor pricing pages and documentation, checked 28 to 29 September 2026. We have not built the same app in all three, so nothing here compares output quality or speed. The per-unit figures are our arithmetic. Bolt’s reload pricing and v0’s credit price are not stated on the pages we read. Re-checked every 30 days.

Common questions

Is Lovable, Bolt or v0 best for beginners?

Lovable is the most guided: chat and visual editing with the backend handled. Bolt expects you to read code, and v0 is strongest for those who can work with React.

Which is cheapest?

Bolt Pro and Lovable Pro are $25 a month and v0 Plus is $30 per user. Real cost depends on usage, and the units are not comparable, so the cheapest in practice depends on how you build.

Can I move my app off these tools?

Yes for the code, through GitHub on all three. The database is where it differs: see the export matrix.

Sources

Update log

  1. Rewritten around three things the vendors do not put side by side: the billing unit, what happens at zero, and how you leave. Prices re-checked against all three pricing pages; v0 Plus is $30 (the struck-through $90 is not a price).