The short answer: Bolt.new is free with a 300,000-token daily cap and 1 million tokens a month, then $25 a month for Pro (from 10 million tokens, no daily cap, custom domain) or $30 per member on Teams. Bolt bills in tokens, not prompts, and publishes no tokens-per-prompt figure, so nobody can honestly tell you how many apps a plan buys. What you can know is the rate: Pro works out at $2.50 per million tokens at its entry tier.
The plans
From Bolt’s pricing page, checked 29 September 2026, monthly billing.
| Plan | Price | Tokens | Rollover | Custom domain | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 300K per day, 1M per month | No | No | 10 MB uploads, up to 333K web requests, Bolt branding |
| Pro | $25 a month | From 10M per month, no daily cap | Yes | Yes | 100 MB uploads, up to 1M web requests |
| Teams | $30 per member a month | Per-member allotment, not shared | Yes | Yes | Team billing and access management |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Yes | Custom |
The page says yearly billing saves “up to 28%” but does not show a per-plan annual price, so we give none (28% off $25 would be about $18 a month, our arithmetic). Higher Pro tiers above 10M are not itemised on the page.
The free plan has two ceilings
The 1M monthly figure is a ceiling you may never reach: Bolt’s docs describe a “daily cap of 300K, separate from the 1 million monthly cap”, and unused daily tokens do not carry over. At the daily cap you can spend the month’s 1M in four days at the fastest, and no faster. Once you hit the daily cap, the docs say you can still make direct edits in Code view, which does not use tokens, or wait for the reset.
Rollover and top-ups
Free tokens do not roll over. On paid plans, unused tokens stay valid for two months from the start of the billing cycle in which you received them, and Bolt spends the oldest bucket first. A token reload, which buys tokens that do not expire, is only offered to Pro subscribers on the highest monthly tier or any annual plan, and Bolt lists no price for it (“varies based on your plan”). Bolt itself says upgrading is the most cost-effective way to get more tokens.
What a token costs
Only one rate can be worked out from published numbers: $25 for 10 million tokens is $2.50 per million. Free is $0 for 1M. Teams’ per-member token count is not stated on the pricing page, so no rate is shown for it. Compare that unit with the alternatives in Lovable vs Bolt vs v0: Lovable sells credits, v0 sells dollars of credit at model rates, Bolt sells raw tokens. A token count only becomes a cost per app once you know how large your project is, because Bolt reads project files into context on every prompt.
Bolt’s own token-saving steps
Bolt’s efficiency guide lists what consumes tokens (reading prompts and project files, thinking, responding, building) and 13 steps. Grouped:
- Send less: plan before you build, keep prompts specific, add functionality incrementally, reduce project size, manage and clear context.
- Choose cheaper modes: pick the Standard agent for average tasks and the Max agent only for complex ones (Max uses more tokens); Plan mode uses fewer tokens than Build mode.
- Avoid waste: turn connectors on only when needed, avoid repeated automated error-fix attempts, add error handling, and undo through version history rather than prompting a repair.
- Use the UI: use buttons instead of prompting where possible. Manual edits in Code view use no tokens.
The docs give no numbers for any of these.
What happens at zero
The free plan stops until the next daily reset. Paid plans have a monthly pool plus rollover. Whether a published app keeps running when tokens hit zero is not stated in the pages we read; see what happens when builder credits run out for the same question across nine tools.
Where to go next
If the token model is the problem, read Bolt.new alternatives and Base44 vs Bolt.new. For the tool itself, see the Bolt.new review, and for every builder side by side, the pricing index.
Method
Researched from Bolt’s pricing page and support documentation, checked 29 September 2026. We have not run Bolt and make no measurements of tokens per prompt. The $2.50 per million figure is our arithmetic from the published Pro price and entry allowance. Re-checked every 30 days.
Common questions
Is Bolt.new free?
Yes, with 300K tokens a day and 1M a month, Bolt branding, and no custom domain.
Do Bolt tokens roll over?
Not on Free. On paid plans unused tokens stay valid for two months from the start of the billing cycle they arrived in.
How many prompts is 10 million tokens?
Bolt does not say. It depends on project size and the agent used.