Roundups

Best AI Code Editor: Which One for Which Developer

Published Updated 5 min readBy Vibe Coding Intel editorial

Compiled from official docs and public sources, checked .

The short answer: the six tools fall into three types, and the type matters more than the brand. Pick an AI editor (Cursor, Windsurf) if you want a graphical IDE with an agent inside it. Pick a terminal agent (Claude Code, Aider) if you work in the command line and want scriptable, repository-level work. Pick an extension or bring-your-own-key tool (GitHub Copilot, Cline) if you want to stay in your current editor or control which model you pay for. The next question is what you will spend, and the table below answers it at three usage levels.

The three types

TypeToolsYou getThe catch
AI editor (a full IDE)Cursor, WindsurfAgent, chat and completions in one graphical appYou adopt a new editor; usage is metered against pools
Terminal agentClaude Code, AiderRepository-level edits from the command line, scriptableSteeper if you prefer a GUI; Claude Code usage shares limits with Claude chat
Extension or bring-your-own-keyGitHub Copilot, ClineWorks inside VS Code, JetBrains or others; Cline lets you choose the modelCline has no subscription, so you pay the model provider per token

Cursor and Claude Code can both run Claude models, so much of what separates them is the harness around the model rather than the model itself. That is also why headline benchmark scores for “a tool” rarely compare cleanly: a result depends on the tool and the model together.

What each costs at three usage levels

Prices are plan prices from each vendor’s page on 29 September 2026 (Cline from 28 September). “Included usage” is stated where the vendor states it; where it does not, the cell says so rather than guessing. The usage levels are ours: light means a few hours a week, daily means agent use most working days, heavy means long or parallel agent sessions.

ToolLight useDaily agent useHeavy useIncluded usage, as stated
GitHub CopilotFree, or Pro $10Pro+ $39Max $100$15, $70 and $200 of AI credits a month on Pro, Pro+ and Max (1 credit is $0.01); inline suggestions unlimited on paid plans
CursorHobby free, or Pro $20Pro+ $60, or Pro plus on-demandUltra $200Pool sizes for Pro+ and Ultra are not stated by Cursor; its docs say daily Agent users typically spend $60 to $100 a month and power users often exceed $200
Claude CodePro $20 ($17 annual)Max 5x $100Max 20x $200Multiples of Pro usage; amounts not published. Anthropic’s docs put API use at about $13 per active day, or $150 to $250 a month
Windsurf (Devin)Free, or Pro $20Pro $20 plus extra usage at API ratesMax $200Daily and weekly refreshing quotas; sizes not published
Cline$0 plus model API cost$0 plus model API cost$0 plus model API costNone; you pay your model provider per token
Aider$0 plus model API cost$0 plus model API cost$0 plus model API costNone; see the Aider review

Three things this shows. First, the $20 headline understates a daily agent user on almost every tool: where a vendor gives a figure, it is $60 to $250 a month. Second, Copilot is the cheapest per dollar of agent credit on paper ($70 of credits for $39), though what a credit buys in tasks is not stated. Third, bring-your-own-key tools have no ceiling and no floor: the bill is whatever your usage is at API prices. The pricing index holds each row with its source, and two pages go deeper: Cursor pricing explained and Claude Code pricing explained.

Pick by situation

You are…Start withWhy
New to AI coding, in VS Code or JetBrainsGitHub Copilot$10, or free; stays in your editor
Wanting the agent inside a full graphical IDECursorVS Code-style editor with an agent
Working on large codebases from the terminalClaude CodeRepository-level agent, scriptable; see the review
Wanting to control model cost and choiceClineOpen source, bring your own key
Price-sensitive and comfortable in a terminalAiderFree and open source, git-aware
Wanting Cursor’s shape with a different quota modelWindsurfFree tier plus $20 Pro; see Claude Code vs Cursor
Using severalCursor or Copilot daily, plus Claude Code for big tasksThe tools are not exclusive; see Claude Code vs Cursor

Head-to-heads: Claude Code vs Cursor and Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot. If you want to leave one, see Cursor alternatives and GitHub Copilot alternatives; on a budget, best free AI coding tools. If you would rather not write code at all, the hub is best AI app builder. Copilot credit pools: GitHub Copilot pricing explained. Windsurf quotas: Windsurf pricing explained.

What happens at the limit

Each tool handles running out differently: Cursor bills on-demand usage at the same API rates and says requests are not downgraded; Copilot lets you enable paid usage with a dollar budget; Claude Code on Pro or Max hits a five-hour and weekly limit, then offers prepaid usage credits at API rates. The comparison including the app builders is in what happens when credits run out.

Method

Researched from vendor pricing pages and documentation on 28 to 29 September 2026. We have not run these tools or measured their output, and this page makes no capability ranking: the pick-by-situation table reflects type and cost, not quality. Usage-level labels are ours. Windsurf’s Teams plan is shown by the vendor as $80 base plus $40 per developer and is not in the table because it is not an individual plan. Re-checked every 30 days.

Common questions

What is the best AI code editor?

It depends on the type you want. For a graphical IDE with an agent, Cursor; for the terminal and large repositories, Claude Code; for staying in your current editor at the lowest price, GitHub Copilot.

What is the cheapest AI code editor?

GitHub Copilot at $10 a month, with a free plan (the plans page lists 2,000 completions a month; chat and agent use on Free is limited). Cline and Aider are free but you pay the model provider.

Can I use more than one?

Yes. Many developers pair a daily editor or extension with a terminal agent for larger tasks. The plans are separate subscriptions.

Sources

Update log

  1. Rebuilt as the hub for the code-editor pages. Removed the ranked list (no criteria stated) in favour of a type taxonomy and a cost table at three usage levels, from vendor pricing pages and docs re-checked today.